New Year’s Resolutions 2017 First Quarter Report and Roundup

Hello, everyone! A beautiful day isn’t it?

The first quarter of the year had passed by in a blur. So fast that I hardly notice. So did you, right? You might be saying, “OMG! Three months? What am I even doing?” But I have another question that could make you more confused on your life choices.

New Year's Resolutions 2017 First Quarter Report and Roundup

“How are your new year goals and resolutions?”

For the serious I-will-be-better-this-year gals, you are going to tell me that you are doing just fine and you are in your way of achieving that sexy hot body or getting that promotion by the end of this year. For the rest, you may be scolding yourself for being your usual self of putting your resolutions on hold…AGAIN (But don’t lose hope my dear! There are still nine months!).

As for me, I am happy to say that I am consistently keeping up with most of my New Year goals. *clap clap* That’s why I’m sharing my little progress to inspire you to go achieve yours.

First, these are my resolutions that I want to materialize this year.

  1. Seek good employment.
  2. Pass my exam.
  3. Be healthy.
  4. Improve.

My 2017, in general, focuses on skills – maintaining, improving and acquiring them to make myself better for personal and career benefits.

Here is my step by step process of doing things. I believe in making consistent baby steps instead of large leaps.

Processed with VSCO
Don’t trust your brain fully for remembering things. Keep a notebook with you all the time. Plus points if it is cute. Notebook from Thailand (given by my friend Marian).

Seek good employment.

  • I do my job applications but instead of doing it every day, I cut it down to 3-4x a week. I became more productive after that since I am able to do other things that I want to do.
  • Do research on good companies and good positions. I believe that your first job is an important determinant of your whole career life. That’s why I’m careful on choosing where to apply.

Pass my exam.

  • I took my exam last March and it’s not the best that I have. I have doubts on passing this one but I am still crossing my fingers. “Hope for the best but expect the worst,” they say.
  • I studied 3x a week. I also didn’t spend the whole time studying because it would drain me. I used my MSA reviewer and a whole lot of online reviewers.

Tip: If you have enough monetary funds to pay for a review center, please do. I heard that these review centers do not only teach the fundamentals but also easy and fast ways to answer difficult questions. This exam is speed and accuracy rolled into one.

See also: Chase Dreams Not People

Be healthy.

It’s 50-50 on this one since there are parts that I am not doing well and there are parts that I do.

  • Exercise at least 10 minutes every day. – Don’t ask me about this one! On some days, I’m doing my planks and jumping jacks. On most days, I won’t even move my butt. I promise that I will do my best to be better than my almost non-existent fitness self.
  • Take my vitamins. – I am always sick. This year, I promised to take my vitamins religiously so that I will be less sick. I am now taking Vitamin B Complex (for more energy) and Vitamin C (for healthy immune function).

Tip: Track your vitamin intake in your planner or a plain notebook. It doesn’t have to be crafty. It only needs to be functional. I have mine like this on every week of my planner:

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
Vitamin B
Vitamin C
  • Drink more water. – Before, I rarely drink water. I can last hours without drinking a glass. I think I would only drink water when I eat or when I get too thirsty. Now, I make sure to drink at the following time:
    •  Upon waking up – 2 glasses
    • Before every meal (I take 4 or more meals every day.) – 1 glass per meal
    • During meals – 1 glass per meal
    • Before bed – 1 glass
    • In between the above mentioned times – 5 or more glasses

Tip: You can also monitor your water intake on your planner or notebook. I use the tally system on each day.

Improve.

This is the resolution that I focus my attention on the most. Fortunately, on my part, I am able to keep up with this one. Maybe it’s this certain drive to make myself better and more competent in the real world.

Communication Skills (Oral and Written)

As a graduate in the modern times, it is essential for me to be able to speak and write in English well. Thanks to my grade school/high school Alma Mater that I can do it (or pretend to do so). But an unused skill can turn dull. Now, I make it a point to read at least 1 book per week or if my time doesn’t permit, I read at least 25 pages per day.

I also practice my so-called writing skills thus the start of this blog.  I write as much as I can – from poems to fictions to articles. It’s also one of the reasons that I pledged to read more – to create better content for this blog while learning and adapting those lessons in my own life.

Communication Skills (Listening)

This is the skill that I failed to develop during my school days and I am making up for lost time. I watch at least 1 English movie per week. Right now, I’m open to almost all genres (except horror) since I am still looking for my taste in movies. I also discovered Podcast last March and now I’m lovin’ it. I’ve been listening to different channels during my free time and during my household chores sessions. Learning while doing the necessary activities? Fabuloso!

Technical Skills

I was looking for websites that offer free online courses in the past few days. I believe it is now time for me to go back to studying my lessons. I will start this April.

First Quarter Roundup

As I mentioned earlier, I am consistently reading books, watching movies and listening to Podcast on the first quarter of 2017 and I thought to curate this roundup as another habit I’ll develop on the blog.

  • Books

1

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Details

Hardcover, 295 pages
Published: March 1st, 2012 by FBA Powersetup

Original Title: Me and Earl and the Dying Girl
Genre: Fiction, Young Adult, Contemporary, Humor
ISBN: 1419701762 (ISBN13: 9781419701764)
Edition Language: English
Characters: Greg Gaines, Earl Jackson, Rachel Kushner
Setting: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania (United States)

Ratings

→ Goodreads: 3.6/5
→ Barnes & Nobles: 3.8/5
→ My Rating: 4/5

The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

Details

Hardcover, 335 pages
Published: August 27th, 2013 by Katherine Tegen

Original Title: Severed Heads, Broken Hearts
Genre: Fiction, Young Adult, Contemporary, Coming of Age
ISBN: 0062217135 (ISBN13: 9780062217134)
Edition Language: English
Characters: Ezra Faulkner, Cassidy Thorpe, Toby Ellicott
Setting: Eastwood, California (United States)

Literary Awards: Milwaukee County Teen Book Award Nominee (2014), Lincoln Award Nominee (2015)

Ratings

→ Goodreads: 3.8/5
→ Barnes & Nobles: 4.1/5
→ My Rating: 4.7/5

Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn

Details

Hardcover, 183 pages
Published: May 23rd, 2006 by Knopf Books for Young Readers

Original Title: Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist
Genre: Fiction, Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
ISBN: 0375835318 (ISBN13: 9780375835315)
Edition Language: English
Setting: Manhattan, New York City, New York (United States)

Literary Awards: Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Award (RT Award) for Young Adult (2006), Deutscher Jugendliteraturpreis Nominee for Preis der Jugendjury (2008), The Inky Awards Shortlist for Silver Inky (2007)

Ratings

→ Goodreads: 3.7/5
→ Barnes & Nobles: 4.2/5
→ My Rating: 2.5/5

2

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Details

Hardcover, 325 pages
Published: January 13th, 2015 by Riverhead Books

Original Title: The Girl on the Train
Genre: Fiction, Mystery, Crime, Thriller
ISBN: 1594633665 (ISBN13: 9781594633669)
Edition Language: English
Characters: Rachel Watson, Anna Watson, Tom Watson, Megan Hipwell, Scott Hipwell, Kamal Abdic
Setting: London, England (United Kingdom)

Literary Awards: Audie Award for Audiobook of the Year (2016), Goodreads Choice Award for Mystery & Thriller (2015), Waterstones Book of the Year Nominee (2015), Woman & Home Reader’s Choice Award for Best Thriller Of The Year (2016)

Ratings

→ Goodreads: 3.9/5
→ Barnes & Nobles: 3.9/5
→ My Rating: 4.5/5

Outliers: The Story of Success by Malcolm Gladwell

Details

Hardcover, 309 pages
Published: November 18th, 2008 by Little, Brown and Company (first published January 1st, 2008)

Original Title: Outliers: The Story of Success
Genre: Nonfiction, Self-help, Psychology, Economics
ISBN: 0316017922 (ISBN13: 9780316017923)
Edition Language: English

Ratings

→ Goodreads: 4.1/5
→ Barnes & Nobles: 4.1/5
→ My Rating: 4.9/5

The House of the Stone by Amy Ewing

Details

ebook, 87 pages
Published: July 7th, 2015 by HarperTeen

Genre: Science Fiction, Young Adult, Fantasy, Dystopia
ISBN: 0062385666 (ISBN13: 9780062385666)
Edition Language: English
Series: The Lone City #1.5

Ratings

→ Goodreads: 3.8/5
→ Barnes & Nobles: 3/5
→ My Rating: 4/5

3
The Lone City Series by Amy Ewing

The Jewel by Amy Ewing

Details

Hardcover, 358 pages
Published: September 2nd, 2014 by HarperTeen

Original Title: The Jewel
Genre: Science Fiction, Young Adult, Fantasy, Dystopia
ISBN: 0062235796 (ISBN13: 9780062235794)
Edition Language: English
Series: The Lone City #1
Characters: Violet Lasting, Lot 197

Ratings

→ Goodreads: 3.9/5
→ Barnes & Nobles: 4/5
→ My Rating: 4.2/5

The White Rose by Amy Ewing

Details

Hardcover, 308 pages
Published: October 6th, 2015 by HarperTeen (first published September 17th, 2015)

Genre: Science Fiction, Young Adult, Fantasy, Dystopia
ISBN: 0062235818 (ISBN13: 9780062235817)
Edition Language: English
Series: The Lone City #2

Ratings

→ Goodreads: 4/5
→ Barnes & Nobles: 4.5/5
→ My Rating: 4.2/5

The Black Key by Amy Ewing

Details

Hardcover, 295 pages
Published: October 4th, 2016 by HarperTeen

Genre: Science Fiction, Young Adult, Fantasy, Dystopia
ISBN: 0062235842 (ISBN13: 9780062235848)
Edition Language: English
Series: The Lone City #3

Ratings

→ Goodreads: 4/5
→ Barnes & Nobles: 4.6/5
→ My Rating: 4/5

book_Legend Series
Legend Series by Marie Lu

Life Before Legend: Stories of the Criminal and the Prodigy by Marie Lu

Details

Kindle Edition, 38 pages
Published: January 15th, 2013 by Putnam Juvenile (first published November 13th, 2012)

Original Title: Life Before Legend
Genre: Fiction, Young Adult, Fantasy, Dystopia
ASIN: B009KUWWD4
Edition Language: English
Series: Legend 0.5
Characters: June Iparis, Daniel Altan Wing
Setting: Los Angeles, The Republic of America

Ratings

→ Goodreads: 3.7/5
→ Barnes & Nobles: 3.7/5
→ My Rating: 4/5

Legend by Marie Lu

Details

Hardcover, 305 pages
Published: November 29th, 2011 by Putnam Juvenile

Original Title: Legend
Genre: Fiction, Young Adult, Fantasy, Dystopia, Romance
ISBN: 39925675X (ISBN13: 9780399256752)
Edition Language: English
Series: Legend #1
Characters: June Iparis, Daniel Altan Wing, Metias Iparis, Commander Jameson, Thomas Bryant, Tess, Kaede
Setting: Los Angeles, The Republic of America, 2130

Literary Awards: Rebecca Caudill Young Reader’s Book Award Nominee (2015), Milwaukee County Teen Book Award Nominee (2013), The Inky Awards Nominee for Silver Inky (2012), Lincoln Award Nominee (2014), Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Young Adult Fantasy and Science Fiction (2012)

Ratings

→ Goodreads: 4.2/5
→ Barnes & Nobles: 4.5/5
→ My Rating: 4.8/5

Prodigy by Marie Lu

Details

Hardcover, 371 pages
Published: January 29th, 2013 by Putnam Juvenile

Original Title: Prodigy
Genre: Fiction, Young Adult, Fantasy, Dystopia, Romance
ISBN: 0399256768 (ISBN13: 9780399256769)
Edition Language: English
Series: Legend #2
Characters: June Iparis, Daniel Altan Wing
Setting: Nevada (United States)

Ratings

→ Goodreads: 4.3/5
→ Barnes & Nobles: 4.5/5
→ My Rating: 4.7/5

Champion by Marie Lu

Details

Hardcover, 369 pages
Published: November 5th, 2013 by Putnam Juvenile

Original Title: Champion
Genre: Fiction, Young Adult, Fantasy, Dystopia, Romance
ISBN: 0399256776 (ISBN13: 9780399256776)
Edition Language: English
Series: Legend #3
Characters: June Iparis, Daniel Altan Wing

Ratings

→ Goodreads: 4.4/5
→ Barnes & Nobles: 4.7/5
→ My Rating: 4.9/5

My Favorites

  1. Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell – This is my first nonfiction book and I’m glad that I’m off to a good start in regards to reading self-help books. Outliers tells the stories of well-known personalities. Gladwell used their tales to give us pointers on the factors that helped them succeed but in a way that we haven’t seen before. His intellectual discussions are never daunting for he explained complex lessons in a simple no nonsense way.
  2. Legend Series by Marie Lu – I’ve never been this attached to a dystopian series since The Hunger Games in 2012. It has the right amount of depth, adventures, and emotions that made me awake in most nights.
  • Movies

6

Cinderella (2015)

Details

Starring Cate Blanchett, Lily James, Richard Madden, Stellan Skarsgård, Holliday Grainger, Derek Jacobi, Helena Bonham Carter

Directed by Kenneth Branagh
Based on Disney’s Cinderella Cendrillon by Charles Perrault
Genre: Fantasy/Science Fiction
Release date: February 13, 2015 (Berlin), March 13, 2015 (United States)
Running time: 105 minutes
Language: English
Budget: $95 million
Box office: $543.5 million

Ratings

→ Rotten Tomatoes: 83%
→ IMDb: 7/10
→ My Ratings: 4.7/5

Maleficent (2014)

Details

Starring Angelina Jolie, Sharlto Copley, Elle Fanning, Sam Riley, Imelda Staunton, Juno Temple, Lesley Manville

Directed by Robert Stromberg
Based on Disney’s Sleeping BeautyLa Belle au bois dormant by Charles Perrault
Genre: Fantasy/Action
Release date: May 28, 2014 (United Kingdom), May 30, 2014 (United States)
Running time: 97 minutes
Country: United States
Language: English
Budget: $180 million
Box office: $758.5 million

Ratings

→ Rotten Tomatoes: 50%
→ IMDb: 7/10
→ My Ratings: 4.7/5

The Fault in our Stars (2014)

Details 

Starring Shailene Woodley, Ansel Elgort, Laura Dern, Sam Trammell, Nat Wolff, Willem Dafoe

Directed by Josh Boone
Based on The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Genre: Comedy-drama
Release date: May 16, 2014 (Seattle International Film Festival), June 6, 2014 (United States)
Running time: 126 minutes
Country: United States
Language: English
Budget: $12 million
Box office: $307.2 million

Ratings

→ Rotten Tomatoes: 81%
→ IMDb: 7.8/10
→ My Ratings: 3.9/5

Note: The movie’s official soundtrack is spot on. My favorites are Ed Sheeran’s All of the Stars and Birdy’s Tee Shirt and Best Shot.

If I Stay (2014)

Details

Starring Chloë Grace Moretz, Mireille Enos, Jamie Blackley, Joshua Leonard, Stacy Keach, Aisha Hinds

Directed by R. J. Cutler
Based on If I Stay by Gayle Forman
Genre: Fantasy/Drama
Release date: August 18, 2014 (New York premiere), August 22, 2014 (United States)
Running time: 106 minutes
Country: United States
Language: English
Budget: $11 million
Box office: $78.9 million

Ratings

→ Rotten Tomatoes: 36%
→ IMDb: 6.8/10
→ My Ratings: 3/5

4

The Hunger Games (2012)

Details

Starring Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth, Woody Harrelson, Elizabeth Banks, Lenny Kravitz, Willow Shields, Amandla Stenberg, Stanley Tucci, Donald Sutherland

Directed by Gary Ross
Based on The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Genre: Fantasy/Science fiction
Release date: March 12, 2012 (Los Angeles premiere), March 23, 2012 (United States)
Running time: 142 minutes
Country: United States
Language: English
Budget: $78 million
Box office: $694.4 million

Ratings

→ Rotten Tomatoes: 84%
→ IMDb: 7.2/10
→ My Ratings: 4.8/5

Catching Fire (2013)

Details

Starring Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth, Woody Harrelson, Elizabeth Banks, Lenny Kravitz, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Jeffrey Wright, Stanley Tucci, Donald Sutherland

Directed by Francis Lawrence
Based on Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
Genre: Fantasy/Science fiction
Release date: November 11, 2013 (London premiere), November 22, 2013 (United States)
Running time: 146 minutes
Country: United States
Language: English
Budget $130–140 million
Box office $865 million

Ratings

→ Rotten Tomatoes: 89%
→ IMDb: 7.6/10
→ My Ratings: 4.7/5

Mockingjay Part 1 (2014)

Details

Starring Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth, Woody Harrelson, Elizabeth Banks, Julianne Moore, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Jeffrey Wright, Stanley Tucci, Donald Sutherland

Directed by Francis Lawrence
Based on Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
Genre: Fantasy/Science fiction
Release date: November 10, 2014 (London), November 21, 2014 (United States)
Running time: 123 minutes[2]
Country: United States
Language: English
Budget: $125 million
Box office: $755.4 million

Ratings

→ Rotten Tomatoes: 65%
→ IMDb: 6.7/10
→ My Ratings: 4.6/5

5

Step Up All In (2014)

Details

Starring Ryan Guzman, Briana Evigan, Misha Gabriel, Stephen “tWitch” Boss, Izabella Miko, Alyson Stoner, Adam G. Sevani

Directed by Trish Sie
Based on Characters by Duane Adler
Genre: Drama/Romance
Release date: August 8, 2014
Running time: 112 minutes
Country: United States
Language: English
Budget: $45 million
Box office: $86.2 million

Ratings

→ Rotten Tomatoes: 43%
→ IMDb: 6/10
→ My Ratings: 4/5

The Judge  (2014)

Details

Starring Robert Downey Jr., Robert Duvall, Vera Farmiga, Vincent D’Onofrio, Jeremy Strong, Dax Shepard, Leighton Meester, Billy Bob Thornton

Directed by David Dobkin
Genre: Crime/Drama
Release date: September 4, 2014 (TIFF), October 10, 2014 (United States)
Running time: 141 minutes
Country: United States
Language: English
Budget: $50 million
Box office: $84.4 million

Ratings

→ Rotten Tomatoes: 47%
→ IMDb: 7.4/10
→ My Ratings: 4.4/5

Laggies (2014)

Details

Starring Keira Knightley, Chloë Grace Moretz, Sam Rockwell, Kaitlyn Dever, Jeff Garlin, Ellie Kemper, Mark Webber

Directed by Lynn Shelton
Genre: Drama
Release date: January 17, 2014 (Sundance), October 24, 2014 (United States)
Running time: 100 minutes
Country: United States
Language: English
Box office: $1.8 million

Ratings

→ Rotten Tomatoes: 67%
→ IMDb: 6.4/10
→ My Ratings: 2.8/5

My Favorite

The Hunger Games – They say those movie adaptations are always inferior to its book versions and I can say that the statement holds true to most of them. But not with The Hunger Games. The movie is at par with its book, if not greater. It exudes the same fierceness, glory, and sorrow.  And yes, Katniss volunteering for Prim moved me in the same way as the book. That’s how good it is.

  • Podcasts

podcast_The Daily Boost

The Daily Boost

By Scott Smith, Speaker, Entrepreneur, Consultant, Lifestyle Design Freedom Junkie

Category: Self-Help
Language: English

The Daily Boost is a daily motivation program that talks about life, careers, goal setting among other topics. Scott Smith motivates people to ‘move’ through his real and straight to the point short lectures. If you prefer short podcast episodes, this is the one for you since The Daily Boost only lasts for an average of 10 minutes per episode.

podcast_Girlboss

Girlboss Radio with Sophia Amoruso

By Sophia Amoruso / Panoply / Girl Boss / Nasty Gal

Category: Business
Language: English

Nasty Gal founder and author Sophia Amoruso interviews girlbosses who excelled in their chosen fields. This podcast is a little bit on the informal side since it aims to know the interviewee on a more personal note. Lessons are learned as guests share their stories but it has the tendency to be boring because episodes are pretty long.

See also: She Can and She Will: The Power of Women in Today’s Business World

podcast_The Minimalists

The Minimalists Podcast

By The Minimalists (Joshua Fields Millburn & Ryan Nicodemus)

Category: Self-Help
Language: English

As of this writing, I am not sure if minimalism is a fad or a way of life. But this podcast would surely make you think that you should purge items in your house that are not necessary for everyday living. It doesn’t only discuss physical clutter but also other matters like finances, happiness, and pleasure. The jingle used in the program is catchy which is a plus.

How about you?

  • How are your New Year’s Resolutions and goals? What are the steps you’re taking to make them come into reality?
  • Are you indulging yourself with a book, movie or a podcast? How is it?
  • Any recommendations on books, movies, podcasts or anything that I can try next?
2 Replies to “New Year’s Resolutions 2017 First Quarter Report and Roundup”

Leave a Reply

